G luten is a group of proteins found in certain grains, such as wheat, rye, and barley. Most whole, unprocessed foods fit into a gluten-free diet, allowing a wide variety of options. However, certain additives can turn a supposed gluten-free food into one that may affect individuals with conditions like celiac disease. Many foods are made with gluten-containing ingredients, so it’s important that those who are unable to consume it check ingredient labels closely.
When it comes to Indian food, going Gluten-free can be fairly easy, as one can substitute grains with Rice, as it's a staple diet within this part of the subcontinent. Moreover, India has around 1000 varieties of rice--Basmati is not the only kind. There are a lot of options in millets too, such as finger millet (Ragi), pearl millet (Bajra), foxtail millet (Kangni), and sorghum (Jowar).
Many items that usually contain gluten have gluten-free alternatives that are widely available in most grocery stores, making adherence to the gluten-free diet much easier. Keep in mind, however, that minimally processed fresh foods are a crucial part of a healthy gluten-free diet. It is very important to base your diet around fruits, vegetables, meats, and other healthy food.